7 ways to improve your privacy WhatsApp

Maintaining your privacy on WhatsApp can be really hard if you use the app with it’s default settings.

Fortunately, WhatsApp users have 7 features at their disposal to improve their privacy when using WhatsApp. Let’s talk about them.

Profile photo

Folks who don’t prefer to show people their profile photos will be glad to know that they can hide them. It’s so easy and quick to hide your profile image. It’s just a matter of setting aside less than 30 seconds to make some taps on your phone’s screen and hide the profile picture.

>Open WhatsApp

>Go to Settings.

>Tap “Account”.

>Tap “Privacy”.

>Tap “Profile photo”. You can choose to either not show anybody with the “Nobody” option or show only people who you have saved their numbers 2/with the My Contacts” option.

The “Everybody” option is a default option that shows your profile photo everyone even you haven’t saved their number.

Click to also read  WhatsApp animated stickers spotted in Beta version

Last seen

Unlike the standard SMS, WhatsApp allows users to see when last time another user was on WhatsApp. This is made possible by a feature on WhatsApp called “Last Seen”.

The good thing is that you can play around with this feature to select who can see when was the last time you were on a WhatsApp. Here’s what you can do to disable or tweak your Last Seen

>Open WhatsApp

>Go to Settings.

>Tap “Account”.

>Tap “Privacy”.

>Tap “Last seen”. Choose whether to hide your Last Seen from people who don’t have your number (by selecting “My Contacts” or people to hide from everyone “Nobody”.

By selecting “Everything” you will show your Last Seen to everyone.

WhatsApp status

WhatsApp makes it possible to hide your status Updates from some or all of your contacts. Here’s how you can do that:

>Open WhatsApp

>Go to Settings.

>Tap “Account”.

>Tap “Privacy”.

Click to also read  How to invite people to join a WhatsApp group with a QR Code

>Tap “Status”. Select to show the status update to everyone by selecting “Everyone” or to a selective number of people by selecting ” My contacts except….” and “Only Share with”.

About status

This status differs from the above WhatsApp status in that it’s only for text-based updates and users rarely update it. Anyway, you can also hide this status to contacts by taking the following steps.

>Open WhatsApp

>Go to Settings.

>Tap “Account”.

>Tap “Privacy”.

>Tap “About”.

Groups reject

WhatsApp supports groups where over 200 people can chat simultaneously. Sometimes you could just be added to a WhatsApp group even if you don’t want to be in that group and that compromises your privacy.

But we glad to let you know that you can stop that by changing some settings on your WhatsApp. Indeed, you can can choose who can add you to a group. Here’s how can you can do it:

Click to also read  How to stop people knowing that you've read their messages on WhatsApp

>Open WhatsApp

>Go to “Settings”.

>Tap “Account”.

>Tap “Privacy”.

>Tap “Group”.

Read receipts

WhatsApp users can be notified when when the other user has read their message. They are notified with two blueticks which are also called Read Receipts.

If you don’t want people to know that you’ve read their messages you can disable this option bey doing the following:

>Open WhatsApp

>Go to “Settings”.

>Tap “Account”.

>Tap “Privacy”.

>Tap “Read receipts”.

Block

Annoying people who keep on sending messages or call you on WhatsApp can be blocked so that you can have your peace. Here’s how to do it:

>Open WhatsApp

>Go to Settings.

>Tap “Account”.

>Tap “Privacy”.

>Tap “Blocked contacts” and add the contact you want to block. Read more here about what happens when you block someone.

Here are all the features we urge you to utilize if you want to maintain your privacy. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.