Before we even talk about how you can block someone from viewing your WhatsApp, it only makes sense to first know what the Status feature is.
What is WhatsApp Status and how it works
WhatsApp added the Status feature back in 2017 to enable users to share text and media updates with their contacts easily.
The Status feature works pretty much like that of Snapchat’s, which so happens to be the pioneer of the feature. The media or text posted or shared on the Status disappears after 24 hours.
We are excited to announce that, coinciding with WhatsApp’s 8th birthday on February 24, we are reinventing the status feature. Starting today, we are rolling out an update to status, which allows you to share photos and videos with your friends and contacts on WhatsApp in an easy and secure way.
What you should know about WhatsApp’s Status feature
✓You can post text, videos and GIFS on the status
✓You can only post a video that has a maximum running time of 30 seconds.
✓You can create a GIF of a video in the WhatsApp status
You can post as many Statuses as you want anytime.
✓To be able to show your status to other people or see their statuses, you and your contacts should save each other’s number first. If you dont save their number they won’t see your status and you won’t see their statuses as well.
✓The status is encrypted like other features on WhatsApp so that means nobody will snoop on what you post.
Whoever that you block not to see your WhatsApp status update won’t be notified that you blocked them.
✓When you block someone from viewing your WhatsApp status they can still be able to message and call you and see your last seen.
Did you know you know that there are many tricks you can do by playing around with the WhatsApp Status feature? Read this article to know more about the WhatsApp Status.
How to block someone from viewing your WhatsApp status
>Open WhatsApp and go to the status tab
>Tap 3 dots at right topmost side of your screen
>Tap “Status Privacy”
> You will then see three options: if you select “My Contacts”, all your contacts will see your status updates, if you select “My contacts except…:”, all your contacts except people you select will see your status updates and if you select “Only share with…:”, then only the contacts you select will see your status updates.
Notes to remember
✓ Changes to your privacy settings won’t affect status updates you’ve sent already. For example, if you had posted a status update that you had excluded some people to view and later on you change Status privacy settings to “Everyone”, the status update you had already posted won’t start to be shown to everyone even those you had excluded.
✓WhatsApp has a feature that if you disable, other users won’t be able to see if you have read their messages – they won’t see blueticks if you read their messages. When you disable this Read Receipts you will also affect your status updates. That means if you have disabled read receipts, you won’t be able to see who’s viewed your status updates. And if a contact has disabled read receipts, you won’t be able to see if they have viewed your status updates.
We hope we have helped you to stop that people from keeping tabs on you by blocking them from viewing your WhatsApp status.